The Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) is made up of residents and business persons from around the region. Members are appointed by the TBARTA Board and volunteer their time to advise the Board on a range of issues that affect TBARTA and the region. The appointment is for a two-year term, with an opportunity for reappointment thereafter.

The role of the CAC includes:

  • Providing region-oriented advice to the Authority regarding the development and implementation of a multimodal transportation master plan
  • Representing a wide range of stakeholder interests and community organizations
  • Evaluating proposals and proposed solutions from a citizen's perspective
  • Promoting public awareness and participation in the planning and implementation of the Master Plan and helping disseminate information to local citizen groups.

Because the CAC is created to provide broad community engagement into the planning process and because a key responsibility of CAC members is to assist with increasing public awareness and participation, it is preferred that members be leaders of a recognized group or organization. Members may not be transportation agency staff.

To ensure the Committee includes a cross-section of the region's population, criteria used by the Board for appointment may include, but not be limited to:

  • Membership in business, civic, and environmental organizations
  • Member of senior, low-income, minority, and/or disabled populations
  • Demonstrated interest in transportation or other public policy advocacy
  • Experience in working with local jurisdictions on regional issues
  • Previous community service
  • Professional expertise and qualifications

CAC Members

Note: Alternates are not required and are appointed at the discretion of the Board member for that county/city/committee

Bill Roberts

At Large Chairman

Bob Widmar

At Large Vice Chairman

Richard Balkcom

Pasco County

Sarah Calhoun

Sarasota/Manatee MPO

Josh Frank

HIllsborough County

Lynn Gruber-White

Hernando County

Bob Henion

At Large

Bill Jonson

Pinellas County

Brandie Miklus

City of Tampa

Karen Mullins

Pinellas County MPO

Travis Norton

Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority (PSTA)

Carlene Riecss

Hernando/Citrus MPO

Rick Richmond

Hillsborough County MPO

Clinton C. Wynn

Pasco County MPO

Nicole Rice

Hillsborough County MPO (alt.)

Caron Schwartz

Pinellas County MPO (alt.)

Robert Esposito

Hernando/Citrus MPO (alt.)


City of St. Petersburg


Hillsborough Area Regional Transit Authority


Manatee County


At Large