The Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) is made up of residents and business persons from around the region. Members are appointed by the TBARTA Board members and volunteer their time to advise the Board on a range of issues that affect TBARTA and the region. The appointment is for a two-year term, with an opportunity for reappointment thereafter.

The role of the CAC includes:

  • Providing region-oriented advice to the Authority regarding the development and implementation of a multimodal transportation master plan
  • Representing a wide range of stakeholder interests and community organizations
  • Evaluating proposals and proposed solutions from a citizen's perspective
  • Promoting public awareness and participation in the planning and implementation of the Master Plan and help disseminate information to local citizen groups

Because the CAC is created to provide broad community engagement into the planning process and because a key responsibility of CAC members is to assist with increasing public awareness and participation, it is preferred that members be leaders of a recognized group or organization. Members may not be transportation agency staff.

To ensure the Committee includes a cross-section of the region's population, criteria used by the Board for appointment may include, but not be limited to:

  • Membership in business, civic, and environmental organizations
  • Member of senior, low-income, minority, and/or disabled populations
  • Demonstrated interest in transportation or other public policy advocacy
  • Experience in working with local jurisdictions on regional issues
  • Previous community service
  • Professional expertise and qualifications

CAC Bylaws (adopted March 2008)

CAC Members

At Large  Ben Jordan
At Large  Bob Widmar
At Large  Steven C. Perry
At Large  Robert M. Thomas
Citrus County  John Wade
Hernando County  Anthony R. Palmieri, Chairman
Hillsborough County  Ashley Brundage
Hillsborough County (alt.)  Hoyt Prindle
Manatee County  Jeffrey Orenstein
Pasco County  Tim Hodes
Pasco County (alt.)  Richard Balkcom
Pinellas County  Travis Norton
Sarasota County  Joel Freedman, Vice Chairman
City of Bradenton  Vacant
City of St. Petersburg  Darren Bishop
City of Tampa  Brian Willis
TBARTA MPOs Chairs Coordinating Committee  Councilmember Doreen Caudell
Hernando/Citrus MPO (Advisory Member)  Alan Garman
Hillsborough County MPO (Advisory Member) Bill Roberts
Hillsborough County MPO (alt.) (Advisory Member) Walter Niles
Pasco County MPO (Advisory Member) Vacant
Pinellas County MPO (Advisory Member) Bob Henion
Pinellas County MPO (alt.) (Advisory Member) Karen Mullins
Polk County TPO (Advisory Member) Vacant
Sarasota/Manatee MPO (Advisory Member) Vacant


Note: Alternates are not required and are appointed at the discretion of the Board member for that county/city/committee.